Skip to main content

Astrology in India

Indian astrology is a primeval Indian science which provides most precise predictions by the use of sophisticated and accurate techniques. These techniques are used for the structuring the birth chart of an individual which reveals the correct position of planets in a current set-up and their consequences on human beings and other creatures on earth.

The history of Indian astrology dates back to more than one thousands years. During the initial stages Indian astrology was merely supported by the planetary movements, stars and constellations but as it progressed it started incorporating zodiac signs.

As per the Indian astrology there are 12 zodiac signs which signify 27 constellations, 9 planets and 12 houses. Each planet and house reveals a set of characteristics depending on the time and date of the birth of an individual. This graphic depiction of the zodiac signs and planets is between these displays and its application to humans and other creatures.

Different kinds of Indian Astrology

Indian astrology has three chief divisions:

  1. Astronomy (Siddhanta): It studies planetary movements and its relevance to astrology.

  2. Mundane astrology (Samhita): It studies everyday astrology, foretelling significant incidents associated with tremors, natural calamities, political affairs, astro - meteorology, economic events, residence & construction astrology, Vaastu Shaastra, warnings and prophecies etc.

  3. Predictive astrology (Hora): This division studies the following sub-divisions:
    • Natal Astrology (Jaatak Shaastra / Hora Shaastra): It provides forecasts supported by individual horoscope.

    • Phonetical astrology (Swar Shaastra): It provides forecasts on a person’s family name & reverberations.

    • Horary astrology (Prashna): It provides forecasts on the auspicious time when a query should be asked by the person.

    • Electional astrology (Muhurt or Muhurtha): It provides prophecies on the auspicious time and date to start an activity to attain greatest fulfillment it.

    • Phonetical astrology (Swar Shaastra): It provides forecasts on a person’s family name & reverberations.

    • Lost Horoscopy (Nastjaatakam): It provides a technique of finding or creation of misplaced horoscopes.

    • Numerology (Ankjyotisha): It provides forecasts supported by numbers.

    • Nadi Astrology: A prehistoric discourse which incorporates comprehensive forecasts for individuals.

    • Female astrology (Streejaatak): It is an exclusive division of astrology which tackles with female nativities.

    • Annual Horoscopy (Varsha Phal): The predictions of this division are supported by yearly solar revisits.

Disparity between Indian and Western Astrology

The basic difference between the two lies in the measurement techniques of the Zodiacs. Indian astrology chiefly uses the technique in which the constellations are regarded as the permanent backdrop against the movements of the planets, while the western astrology measures the planetary movements’ against the placement of the Sun. This disparity between the two became prominent after many centuries due to the movement of the equinoxes.

The creation of a birth chart supported by the Indian astrological system is subject to alterations as it is based on the fact that the Universe is not constant but is poignant. The inference is based on the Big Bang theory which reveals the creation of the Universe and is religiously followed by clairvoyants for more than 8000 years, indicating the expertise that ancient Indian had in astrology compared to other civilizations.

Moreover, Indian astrologers believe that the zodiacs are unsymmetrical and not spherical because of which the 12 houses in the birth plan varies as per the date and time of the birth of an individual. Owing to these disparities the birth plan supported by Indian technique appears to be different as compared to any other astrological method.

Indian Astrology