Skip to main content

Param Vir Chakra Winners List, Recipients of Param Vir Chakra

Param Vir Chakra winners in India are those citizens who are awarded with the Param Vir Chakra or PVC for their highest extent of bravery and self-sacrifice in enemy’s presence.

This is the highest military honor and the second highest government award offered to courageous military officials and personnel of the Indian Army.

Param Vir Chakra medal has mostly been awarded posthumously because our brave army often sacrifices their life for the security of the country.

List of Param Vir Chakra
1 Number Name Regiment Date Place Notes
2IC-521Major Som Nath Sharma4th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment11/03/1947Badgam, Kashmir Posthumous
3IC-22356Lance Naik Karam Singh1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment10/13/1948Tithwal, Kashmir
4SS-14246Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba RaneCorps of Engineers04/08/1948 Naushera, Kashmir
527373Naik Jadu Nath Singh1st Battalion, Rajput RegimentFebruary 1948Naushera, Kashmir Posthumous
62831592Company Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat6th Battalion, Rajputana Rifles17 July 1948–18 July 1948Tithwal, Kashmir Posthumous
7IC-8497Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria3rd Battalion, 1st Gorkha Rifles (The Malaun Regiment) 12/05/1961Elizabethville, Katanga, Congo Posthumous
8IC-7990Major Dhan Singh Thapa1st Battalion, 8th Gorkha Rifles10/20/1962Ladakh, India
9JC-4547Subedar Joginder Singh1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment10/23/1962Tongpen La, Northeast Frontier Agency, India Posthumous
10IC-7990Major Shaitan Singh13th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment 11/18/1962Rezang La Posthumous
11 2639885Company Quarter Master Havildar Abdul Hamid4th Battalion, The Grenadiers 09/10/1965 Chima, Khem Karan Sector Posthumous
12 IC-5565 Lieutenant-Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore 17th Poona Horse 10/15/1965Phillora, Sialkot Sector, Pakistan Posthumous
134239746Lance Naik Albert Ekka 14th Battalion, Brigade of the Guards12/03/1971 Gangasagar Posthumous
1410877 F(P) Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh SekhonNo.18 Squadron, Indian Air Force 12/14/1971 Srinagar, Kashmir Posthumous
15IC-25067 2/Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal 17th Poona Horse12/16/1971Jarpal, Shakargarh Sector Posthumous
16 IC-14608 Major Hoshiar Singh3rd Battalion, The Grenadiers 12/17/1971 Basantar River, Shakargarh Sector
17JC-155825 Naib Subedar Bana Singh8th Battalion, Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry 06/23/1987 Siachen Glacier, Jammu and Kashmir
18IC-32907Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran8th Battalion, Mahar Regiment11/25/1987Sri Lanka Posthumous
19IC-56959 Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey1st Battalion, 11th Gorkha Rifles 07/03/1999 Khaluber/Juber Top, Batalik sector, Kargil area, Jammu and Kashmir Posthumous
20 2690572Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav18th Battalion, The Grenadiers07/04/1999 Tiger Hill, Kargil area
21 13760533Rifleman Sanjay Kumar13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles07/05/1999 Area Flat Top, Kargil Area
22 IC-57556Captain Vikram Batra 13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles 07/06/1999 Point 5140, Point 4875, Kargil Area Posthumous

Last Updated on 10/19/2011

India Facts