Skip to main content

Indian Flag, National Flag

Indian Tricolor- the pride of every Indian is a symbol of our democracy and the republic of India. A flag is the national symbol of a country and this is one symbol, which every citizen has to respect and salute. Every flag has a different story to share. Indian Flag symbolizes the struggle of the freedom movement. It salutes the era, which brought us our rights.

India Flag
Design of Indian Flag: The present Indian flag is the came into existence in 1947 on July 22. Pingali Venkayya designed the flag, which was adopted in an ad hoc constituent meeting. Three colors are used to make this flag and each color is placed in equal proportion horizontally. Saffron is used on the top, followed by white and green. There is a navy blue Ashok Chakra at the middle of the white portion, which has 24 spokes.

Indian flag colors and meaning: There are three colors in Indian flag: saffron, white, and green and there is a navy blue Ashok Chakra.

Meaning of Saffron: This color is the symbol of spirituality. Saffron is used by the saints, and for this reason this color also represents adhyatm of India. In other words, saints and pundits are also referred to as selfless and courageous. Saffron symbolizes thee traits as well. In Indian flag, this color signifies strength and power to be used to benefit the people in India.

Meaning of White: White signifies purity, truth, and peace. Some also opine that white color symbolizes the light of truth and caters to the right way to achieve the way of truth and peace. In the context of the flag of India, the meaning of white color has achieved a different dimension. In a country, which is ethnically and culturally diverse, white symbolizes harmony among all the diversities.

Meaning of Green: The color green symbolizes profusion. This color signifies Indian agriculture, culture, history, and people. It suggests an integral relation between the people of India and soil and environment of the country. In Indian flag, green symbolizes fertility and prosperity. India has always blessed with best brains, which cater to the nation’s success in every sphere of life. This affluence is represented by this color.

Meaning of Ashok Chakra: Ashok Chakra is navy blue in color and it signifies justice. This wheel of justice has 24 spokes. The wheel represents unstoppable and unlimited motion, which in turn signifies the iron determination of Indian people to achieve their goal. The wheel got its inspiration from Ashok Astambh in Sarnath. The 24 spokes suggest 24 hours in a day.

History of Indian Flag: The flag of India is the result of the constant evolution and experiments. We have gained our national flag through a number of changes. During the freedom movement, the necessity of National Flag was first realized. In 1906 on August 7, the first national flag of India was hoisted in Parsee Bagan Square, Kolkata. The first flag had red, yellow, and green horizontal stripes.

The second modification of Indian national flag came in existence in 1907. The flag was hoisted in 1907 in Paris. Madame Cama along with her companions hoisted the flag. It was almost same with that of the first one, except for the top strip, which had one lotus and seven stars on it. This flag was published at socialist conference in Berlin.

In 1917, the third version of Indian national flag came into existence. It was hoisted by Lokmanya Tilak and Dr. Annie Besant during the Home Rule Movement in India. It had five red and four green horizontal stripes alternatively. The seven stars of the previous flag, were incorporated on the flag design. On the left top corner of the flag, there was a Union Jack with a white falcate and a star.

In 1921, a young man from Andhra Pradesh prepared a design for Indian Flag and presented it to Mahatma Gandhi at the All India Congress Committee meeting at Bezwada. This design has red and green stripes. After Gandhiji’s suggestion, he introduced white into the design and a wheel at the middle of the white strip.

In 1931, Indian National flag was molded into the modern version. There were three colors: saffron, white, and green were used in this flag. There was Gandhiji’s spinning wheel or Charkha on the middle of the white portion of the flag.

In 1947, the present and modified National flag of India came into existence. The flag had saffron, white, and green strips horizontally. However, Gandhiji’s Charkha was replaced by Ashok Charka of navy blue color. On July 22, the design was finally adopted as the tricolor flag of Free India.

National flag decorum: Even though, the Indian flag was meant for the people of India, but there are strict codes, which should be mandatorily followed by every Indian. In the year of 2002, a new legislation was introduced which has amended a few flag codes. Some of the Indian flag rules are described below:

  • National flag may be hoisted in educational institutions and educational camps. An oath of respect should be uttered before hoisting the flag.

  • Any public or private organization may hoist Indian national flag on its premises on any ordinary day as well as on special occasions like Independence Day or Republic day without disrespecting the honor of the national flag.

  • All private citizens of the country may hoist the Indian flag on their houses.

  • The national flag should not be used as cloths or drapes below the waist.

  • It should be hoisted from sunrise to sunset.

  • None should gain any communal advantage from the national flag.

  • While hoisting the flag, one should not allow the flag to touch the floor, water, or the ground. This signifies disrespect and humiliation to our national flag.

  • It cannot be used as a drapery of a vehicle but it can be used in front of any vehicle used by ministers and political deputes.

  • The flag should be flown at the highest position and no other flag should be there above it.

  • It should not be used as festoon or accessory.

  • No object should be placed on the national flag.

Some interesting facts about Indian Flag:

  • The ratio of the width to its length of the Indian national flag is 2:3.
  • The Indian flag is originally made of cotton cloth.
  • Generally, the flag is hoisted after the National Anthem.
  • On sad occasion if the national flag or its pride is damaged, it should be burnt completely.
Free Download Flag of India in different size
india-flag india-flag india-flag
Size:1024x600 Size:1280x728 Size:A4
india-tri-colour-map-thumb india-republic-day india-flag
Tricolor Map of India Republic Day Free Download Wallpapers
Download free Blank Indian flag to Color in GIF
Download free Blank Indian flag to Color PDF  

Last Updated on 8/5/2011

For more information on India, Please Visit :